Evaluating Sources: Primary

Characteristics

• Originality: Primary sources are original materials that have not been altered or interpreted. They provide direct evidence of the subject of your research.
• Examples: Diaries, speeches, original research reports, legal documents, historical artifacts, and interviews.

Evaluation Tips

• Authenticity: Verify the source’s authenticity by checking its origin and integrity. Confirm that it is a true original rather than a reproduction.
• Relevance: Ensure the primary source directly pertains to your research question or topic. It should provide specific information that supports your thesis.
• Context: Understand the historical or situational context in which the primary source was created. Consider how the time and place of its creation might affect its content and perspective.

Evaluating Sources: Secondary

Characteristics

• Interpretation: Secondary sources analyze, interpret, or summarize primary sources. They provide context and commentary on original materials.
• Examples: Review articles, biographies, essays, and historical analyses.

Evaluation Tips

• Analysis Quality: Evaluate the depth and quality of the analysis provided. The source should offer a thorough and insightful interpretation of primary data.
• Author’s Perspective: Assess the author’s viewpoint and potential biases. Understand how their perspective might influence the analysis of primary sources.
• Usefulness: Determine how well the secondary source contributes to your understanding of the primary data and its relevance to your research topic.

Evaluating Sources: Scholarly

Characteristics

• Expertise: Scholarly sources are written by experts and are often peer-reviewed, ensuring a high standard of accuracy and credibility.
• Examples: Academic journal articles, research reports, and scholarly books.

Evaluation Tips

• Author’s Credentials: Verify the author’s qualifications and academic background. They should be recognized experts in their field.
• Review Process: Check if the source has undergone a peer-review process, which adds to its credibility and reliability.
• Content Depth: Look for detailed analysis, extensive research, and comprehensive references. The source should provide in-depth information relevant to your research.

Evaluating Sources: Popular

Characteristics

• Audience: Popular sources are designed for a general audience and often focus on readability and broad appeal rather than in-depth analysis.
• Examples: Newspapers, magazines, online news sites, and blogs.

Evaluation Tips

• Author’s Background: Consider the author’s qualifications and expertise. They are often journalists or general writers rather than specialists in the field.
• Purpose: Identify the source’s purpose, such as informing, entertaining, or persuading. Be aware of potential biases or sensationalism.
• Content Level: Assess whether the source provides sufficient detail and accuracy for your research needs. Popular sources may lack the depth needed for academic work.

Evaluating Sources: Web-Based

Characteristics

• Format: Includes websites, online journals, blogs, and databases. They offer easy access and are often updated frequently.
• Examples: University websites, news blogs, online databases, and digital archives.

Evaluation Tips

• Credibility: Check the domain (.edu, .org) and the site’s reputation. Reliable sources often come from established institutions or organizations.
• Author Information: Verify the author’s credentials and the organization behind the website. Ensure they are reputable and qualified.
• Update Frequency: Consider how often the content is updated. For current topics, sources that are regularly updated may provide more relevant information.

Evaluating Sources: Print

Characteristics

• Format: Physical materials such as books, journals, and newspapers. These sources are stable and provide well-vetted information.
• Examples: Academic textbooks, print journals, and physical copies of newspapers.

Evaluation Tips

• Publication Quality: Assess the reputation of the publisher and the review process for the source. Reputable publishers often ensure high-quality content.
• Condition: Check for any signs of outdated information or physical damage. Ensure the source is in good condition and relevant to your research.
• Accessibility: Consider how easily you can access the source compared to digital formats. Physical sources may be less accessible but can still provide valuable information.

Currency

Is the information up-to-date?

Currency refers to how recent the information is and whether its timeliness affects its accuracy or relevance. Depending on your topic, the importance of this element may vary. For instance, research in fields like technology, medicine, or current events requires the most up-to-date information, whereas historical or literary analysis may rely on older, foundational works. 

Things to Consider

• Publication Date: Check when the source was published or last updated. 
• Link Functionality (for web sources): In online sources, broken links or missing data could signal that the content is outdated or poorly maintained. 
• Field of Study: Certain disciplines (like science or economics) evolve quickly, meaning older data might no longer be accurate or relevant.

Key Questions to Ask Yourself

• When was the source published or last updated?
• Does your research require current information, or is older data acceptable?
• Have there been recent developments in the topic that would make this source less relevant?

Relevance

Does it directly relate to your topic?

Relevance helps you determine whether the source meets the needs of your research. A source might be accurate and current, but if it doesn't contribute meaningfully to your specific topic or research question, it might not be worth including. 

Things to Consider

• Scope: Check if the source covers your topic in enough depth. Some sources might be too general, while others might be too specific or narrow to be useful.
• Audience: Determine who the information was written for. Works can be geared toward experts, general readers, or students. Make sure the source matches the level of detail your project requires.
• Connection to Your Research: Check if the source answers or supports your research question, or if it is only tangentially related.

Key Questions to Ask Yourself

• Does this source help answer my research question or provide essential background information?
• Is the level of detail appropriate for my project?
• Is the source intended for the right audience—students, professionals, or general readers?

Authority

Who is the author, and is the author credible?

Authority focuses on the expertise and qualifications of the author or organization responsible for the source. The credibility of your source heavily depends on the trustworthiness of the creator and is especially important in academic and professional research.

Things to Consider

• Author's Credentials: Look for the author's qualifications, such as their educational background, institutional affiliation, or professional experience. Are they recognized as an expert in the field?
• Link Functionality (for web sources): Check if the source was published by a reputable journal, academic press, or well-known organization. Publishers and institutions with established reputations are more likely to ensure the information is reliable.
• Field of Study: Check if the source cites other credible, authoritative sources. This often indicates a well-researched and credible work.

Key Questions to Ask Yourself

• What are the author's credentials? Are they an expert in this field?
• Is the source affiliated with a respected institution or publisher?
• Does the source reference other credible and reliable works?

Accuracy

Is the information correct and supported by evidence?

Accuracy ensures that the information in your source is correct and reliable. A source might be current and relevant, but if it contains inaccuracies or is poorly researched, it can undermine your entire project.  

Things to Consider

• Evidence and Support: Check if the source provides evidence for its claims, such as data, statistics, or citations. Well-supported information is typically more reliable.
• Cross-Verification: Compare the information with other trusted sources. If multiple reputable sources agree, it's more likely to be accurate. 
• Error Checking: Looking for spelling and grammatical errors, which can sometimes indicate a lack of attention to detail. Also, watch for inconsistencies in the data presented.

Key Questions to Ask Yourself

• Does the source provide evidence to back up its claims? What kind of evidence is used? 
• Can the information be verified by other reliable sources?
• Are their noticeable errors or inconsistencies in the data or presentation?

Purpose

Why was this information created and is it biased?

Purpose examines why the information was created and whether it has any bias or agenda. Understanding the purpose behind the source helps you assess its objectivity and relevance to your research.

Things to Consider

• Author's Intent: Determine if the source was created to inform, persuade, entertain, or sell something. Sources with commercial or persuasive intent may be biased.
• Bias and Objectivity: Evaluate whether the information is presented fairly or if there is a noticeable bias. A balanced perspective is often more credible.  
• Audience and Motivation: Consider who the intended audience is and how that might influence the content. A source could try to appeal to a specific group or promote a particular viewpoint.

Key Questions to Ask Yourself

• What is the primary purpose of this source? To inform, persuade, or entertain?
• Is there any evidence bias, or does the source strive for objectivity?
• How does the intended audience affect the content and its reliability?