Skip to Main Content

Research Methods: A Student's Comprehensive Guide: Accessing Resources

offers a thorough resource for mastering research techniques, from formulating questions to writing and citing your research effectively.

Accessing Library Resources: Explore the Collection

Welcome to your comprehensive guide for accessing and utilizing library resources! Here, you'll discover everything you ned to efficiently navigate and make the most of the tools and services available at your library for your research and coursework.

Database Directions

  1. Find the Search Bar: Look right above these instructions to locate the database search bar.
  2. Enter Search Terms: Type in your keywords or topics to begin your search.
  3. Click Search: Hit the search button to view your results.
  4. Filter Results: Use the database’s built-in tabs to filter by resource type, like Articles, eBooks, or Journals.
  5. Narrow Your Search: On the results page, adjust filters on the left to refine by date, subject, or author, helping you zero in on the resources you need.

Accessing Library Resources

  • Library Catalog: The library catalog helps you locate books, journals, and other materials. Utilize search keywords, apply filters, and browse categories to efficiently find the resources you need.
  • Databases: Academic databases provide access to scholarly articles, research papers, and more. Simply log in with your TSU student credentials to explore these resources. For an enhanced experience, consider signing up for an account through the database to unlock features like saving sources, receiving keyword alerts, and tracking your research history. Use search functions and filters to quickly find and refine the materials you need. 
  • eResources: eResources, such as eBooks, online journals, and digital media, are available through the library's website. Log in with your institutional credentials and navigate these platforms to access and utilize digital materials.
  • Interlibrary Loan (ILL): If a resource isn't available in your library, the interlibrary loan (ILL) service allows you to request materials from other libraries. To use this service, simply fill out the ILL request form on TSU’s library website and track your request status. For more detailed steps, check out TSU's ILL procedures.
  • TexShare: Is another option for accessing resources beyond TSU's library. With a TexShare card, you can borrow materials from participating libraries across Texas. To get started, visit the library's circulation desk and request a TexShare card. For more information, review TSU's TexShare guidelines. 

Using Library Resources

Research Strategies
  • Develop a Research Plan: Start by defining your research question or topic. Break it down into specific keywords and phrases to guide your searches. Establish a timeline for your research process to stay organized and on track. 
  • Use Effective Search Techniques: Employ advanced techniques such as Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT), phrase searching, and truncation (using symbols like * to include variations of the word) to enhance your search results. 
  • Evaluate Sources: Assess the relevance and credibility of the sources you find. Consider the author's expertise, the publication's reputation, and the source's relevance to your topic.
  • Organize Your Findings: Create a system to keep track of the sources you find. Use digital tools or apps to organize and annotate your research materials, which will help streamline the writing process.
  • Integrate Research into Your Work: Plan how you will incorporate your findings into your assignment or project. Outline each source supports your arguments or provides evidence for your claims.
Citation and Referencing
  • Understand Citation Styles: Familiarize yourself with the citation style required for your assignment (e.g., APA, MLA, Chicago). Each style has specific rules for citing sources and formatting references.
  • Use Citation Tools: Take advantage of citation management tools provided by the library or database, such as citation generators or reference management software (e.g., Zotero, EndNote). These tools can help format your citations correctly and manage your references.
  • Double-Check Citations: Always review your citations to ensure accuracy and consistency. Refer to style guides or library resources for clarification on tricky citation issues.
Accessing Full Texts
  • Locate Full Texts in Databases: Many databases provide direct links to the full text of articles and papers. If a full text isn’t available, check the “Find It” button or link to request the material through interlibrary loan.
  • Use Library’s Digital Collections: Explore digital collections and archives available through the library’s website. These resources often include historical documents, special collections, and rare materials.
  • Request Physical Copies: If you need a physical book or print material, check its availability in the library catalog. You can request it for pickup or use interlibrary loan if it's not available at your library.

Additional Support

Librarian Assistance

  • Personalized Help: Reach out to librarians via email, phone, or in person for support with research questions, resource navigation, and developing search strategies. Librarians are here to assist you with any research-related needs.

  • Virtual Support: Use online chat services or virtual consultations for immediate help from librarians, allowing you to get assistance without visiting the library physically.

Research Guides and Tools

  • Subject-Specific Guides: Utilize research guides tailored to specific subjects, providing curated resources and tips for effective research in various fields.

  • Citation Assistance: Use library resources for citation help, including guides and tools to ensure your references are accurate and properly formatted.

Related Resources

Navigate through the following pages by clicking on the links below:

Research Guides by Subject

A-Z Databases

Subject-Specific Librarians

Interlibrary Loans (ILL) Services

 

Tips

  • Refine Your Search: Use specific and relevant keywords to improve search accuracy. Experiment with different terms and phrases to get the best results.

  • Check Resource Access: Before starting your search, ensure you are logged in with your TSU credentials to access full-text articles and other materials.

  • Explore Additional Services: If you can’t find what you need, utilize interlibrary loan or TexShare to request materials from other libraries.

  • Track Your Requests: For interlibrary loans and TexShare, monitor the status of your requests through the library’s tracking systems to stay updated on availability.

  • Ask for Help: If you’re stuck or need guidance, reach out to librarians for assistance or use virtual support options for quick help.

FAQs

Q: How do I start using the library catalog?

A: To begin using the library catalog, enter your search terms into the search bar on this page. This search bar is directly linked to the catalog, making it easy to find books, journals, and other materials. Just type your keywords and click “Search” to see the available items.

Q: What’s the difference between a database and an e-resource?

A: Databases are collections of scholarly articles, research papers, and other materials organized for in-depth searching. E-resources include digital items like e-books and online journals. Both types of resources are accessible through the library’s website.

Q: How do I access articles and books from databases?

A: Search for your topic using the library’s database section. Log in with your TSU student credentials when prompted, apply filters as needed, and click on the links provided to access the full text of articles and books.

Q: What if I can’t find a book or article in the library?

A: If the item isn’t available, you can request it through interlibrary loan or use TexShare. Follow the instructions on the library’s interlibrary loan page or TexShare page to borrow materials from other libraries.

Q: How do I use interlibrary loan?

A: Go to the library’s interlibrary loan page, fill out the request form with details about the item you need, and submit it. You will be notified when the item is available for pickup or digital access.

Q: What is TexShare and how do I use it?

A: TexShare allows you to borrow materials from participating Texas libraries. Register on the TexShare page, then use your TexShare card at participating libraries to borrow books and other items.

Q: Can I get help if I don’t understand how to use the library’s resources?

A: Yes! Contact a librarian via email, phone, or in person for assistance. The library also offers virtual chat services for immediate support.

Q: How can I access library resources from home?

A: Access library resources from home by logging in to the library’s website with your TSU student credentials. You can use the search bar on this page or navigate to specific databases and e-resources to find and view materials.