Skip to Main Content

Newspapers

U. S. Newspapers Current Editions

Chronicle of Higher Education The CHE is a newspaper and website that presents news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and Student Affairs professionals (staff members and administrators). A subscription is required to read some articles. Accessing it through the library's website will allow complete access to all of theChron

Houston Chronicle Current Houston Chronicle editions, 2017 - the present.

USA Today
Coverage from 1977 - present.

Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news.

Full text coverage from Jan 2, 1984 to the present

The Washington Post
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. It is the most-widely circulated newspaper within the Washington metropolitan area and has a large national audience.

Dallas Morning News Dallas Morning News coverage 1984 - 2017.

African American Newspapers

Black Life in America
The Chicago Defender

Black Life in America
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media

The Chicago Defender
The Chicago Defender is a Chicago-based online African-American newspaper. It was founded in 1905 by Robert S. Abbott and was once considered the "most important" newspaper of its kind.

Historical Coverage for Newspapers

New York Times
The New York Times is an American daily newspaper based in New York City with a worldwide readership. It was founded in 1851, by Henry Jarvis Raymond and George Jones, and was initially published by Raymond, Jones & Company.

The Washington Post
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. It is the most-widely circulated newspaper within the Washington metropolitan area and has a large national audience.

The Times
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for eighteenth-, nineteenth-, and twentieth-century news coverage. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.

Houston Chronicle Historic
Houston Chronicle coverage begins in 1901 - 2017.

The number of print (paper) newspaper subscriptions is constantly shrinking, most access now is via digital versions. This guide provides assistance with locating the following:

TSU - Library Learning Center subscribes to individual newspaper titles/websites, including archival backfiles
TSU - Library Learning Center subscriptions to multiple newspaper databases, e.g. Newsbank and ProQuest
Freely available online newspapers