In academic writing and research, citation styles are crucial for maintaining consistency and credibility. They provide a standardized method for acknowledging the sources of information and ideas used in your work, ensuring that readers can trace the origin of their sources. Proper citation not only gives credit to the original authors but also helps to prevent plagiarism, which is the unethical practice of using someone else's work without proper attribution.
Citation styles vary by discipline, and different fields prefer different formats. For instance, the APA style is commonly used in the social sciences, the MLA style is prevalent in the humanities, and the Chicago/Turabian style is often employed in history and some social sciences. Understanding and applying the correct citation styles is essential for adhering to academic standards and enhancing the clarity and professionalism of your research.
On this page, you will find an overview of the major citation styles used in academic writing, along with links to detailed guides for each style. This resource aims to help you navigate the citation process, ensuring that your work is properly attributed and formatted according to the expectations of your field.
| Aspect | APA | MLA | Chicago/Turabian |
|---|---|---|---|
| Full Name | American Psychology Association | Modern Language Association | Chicago Manual of Style / Turabian |
| Primary Use | Social sciences (e.g., psychology, sociology) | Humanities (e.g., literature, philosophy) | History and some sciences / Turabian for students |
| In-Text Citation Format | (Author, Year) | (Author Page Number) | (Notes and Bibliography: Footnote/Endnote or Author-Date: Author Year) |
| Reference List/Bibliography Format | References listed alphabetically by author's last name | Works cited, listed alphabetically by author's last name | Bibliography (Notes and Bibliography) or References (Author-Date) |
| Title Case/Sentence Case | Title Case for headings and references | Title Case for headings; Sentence case for titles in Works Cited | Title Case for headings; Sentence case or Title Case for titles, depending on system |
| Date Emphasis | Date is prominent (e.g., Author, Year) | Less emphasis on date (e.g., Author Page Number) | Prominent in Author-Date; less so in Notes and Bibliography |
| Common Sections | Title page, Abstract, Main Body, References | Header, Main Body, Works Cited | Title page, Main Body, Footnotes/Endnotes, Bibliography or References |
| Special Features | Includes DOI for online sources | Focus on page numbers for in-text citations | Flexibility with two systems (Notes and Bibliography v Author-Date) |