This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Performing & Theatre Arts" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Performing & Theatre Arts  

Last Updated: Apr 2, 2014 URL: http://tsu.libguides.com/theater Print Guide RSS Updates
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library of Congress Classification for Performing Arts

Performing Arts / Drama

GV 1580-1799   Dance

GV 1800-1880   Circuses, Carnivals, etc.

PN 1560-1590   Performing Arts and Show Biz

PN 1865-1989    Types of Drama

PN 1997-1997.85   Plays, scenarios, etc.

PN 2000-2081   The Theater—General

PN 2085-2219   The Theater—Stage, Accessories by Period 

PN 2220-2298  Theater in the United States 

PN 2300-2554   Theater in the Americas except the US

PN 2570-2859    Theater in Europe

PN 2860-3030    Theater in Asia, Africa, Oceana

PN 3035 Jewish Theater

PN 3151-3191  The Theater—Amateur & College Theatricals

PN 3195-3307  The Theater—Minstrel Show, Spectacles and Tableaux

 

What's on the Shelves at the Robert J. Terry Library

 

Searching Tips:

WHEN SEARCHING THE LIBRARY CATALOG, TRY SEARCHING "THEATRE OR THEATER" IN ADVANCED SEARCH, OR  BETTER: TRUNCATE LIKE THEAT? USING THE ? OPERATOR.

THIS WAY YOU WILL MAKE SURE YOU RETRIEVE EVERYTHING WITH "THEATRE", "THEATER" OR "THEATRICAL" IN THE RECORD.

 

Featured Resources for Theatre & Performing Arts

FOR THEATRE:

International Index to Performing Arts Full Text
A comprehensive  database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text covering a broad spectrum to the journal literature of the performing arts--drama, theater, stagecraft, dance, musical theatre, film, television and more--radio, television, film and broadcasting journals are included, not just performing arts. IIPA Full Text the full text of current articles from over 100 journals, including American Theatre, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Theatre Journal, Theatre Survey, Opera News and more. View title list.

Fine Arts and Music Collection
This collection provides resources to support research in drama, music, and filmmaking. Some journal titles found here which will be of interest to students in Theatre and Performing Arts are:  American Drama, American Theatre, Performing Arts Journal, TD&T (Theatre Design & Technology), Theatre Crafts, Theatre History Studies, and the Theatre Journal.

FOR THOSE RESEARCHING PLAYS, IT IS A GOOD IDEA TO SEARCH LITERARY AND MORE GENERAL DATABASES:

JSTOR
Offers academic journals and other scholarly content, as well as images, letters, oral histories, pamphlets, and other primary sources. TSU can access the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I Collection, Arts & Sciences II Collection, Business I Collection, Ecology & Botany Collection, and Health & General Sciences Collection.

Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)
A comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames. It includes full-text reference books and literary works including titles with a focus on plays, drama, poetry, and African American and Hispanic literature. Full text literary journals and magazines are also included with a focus on multicultural studies, folklore and Latin American literature.

Literature Criticism Online
This database brings together several acclaimed literary databases: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400–1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, Children's Literature Review, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, and Something About the Author Online.

Literature Online (Chadwyk)
A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 328 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.

Literature Resources from Gale
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across several major Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

MLA International Bibliography
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The electronic version dates back to 1920 and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. Indexed materials coverage is international and includes 60 titles from JSTOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

Play Index (H.W. Wilson)
Play Index searches over 30,000 plays written from antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present. An invaluable aid to finding the perfect plays, Play Index covers a wide range of plays written in or translated into English, including mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. Search for plays by title; author; subject (sisters, culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Emily Nedell Tuck
Contact Info
Reference Librarian
Robert J. Terry Library
713-313-7402
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip