This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music  

Last Updated: Dec 1, 2015 URL: http://tsu.libguides.com/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library of Congress Classification for Music

Music resources are classified under M, with ML reserved for Literature on Music and MT for Musical Instruction. A detailed outline of the M class can be found here.

M 1-5000  Printed music

ML 1-89  General

ML 90   Writings of musicians.

ML 3790-92  Music industry.

ML 3795   Music as a vocation.

MT 1-950   Music Instruction.

You can use these ranges to browse the shelves of the library, or browse virtually our library catalog or ebrary ebook collections (In ebrary go under Advanced search, select LC Call Number search, and input your range like this: M1 to M5000).

 

Search for eBooks on Music

ebrary
Searches the full-text of thousands of eBooks in all disciplines.
 

What's on the Shelves at the Robert J. Terry Library

 

Music Journals In Print Format in the Library

American Music Teacher
Ethnomusicology
Instrumentationalist
Journal of Music Theory
Journal of Research in Music Education
Music Educators Journal
Musical Quarterly
Music and Letters

 

Featured Resources for Music Majors

*** International Index to Music Periodicals Full-Text This database includes over 770,000 records, the majority from the most recent ten years of publication. Some complete journal runs are included, with indexing back to 1874. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition, including Blues, Rock, Soul, Hip-Hop and Jazz [e.g., JAZZ HOT, JAZZIZ, JAZZed: Practical Ideas & Techniques for Jazz Educators, Jazz Education Journal, Jazz Journal, Jazz Perspectives, Jazz Player, Jazz Podium, Jazz Research Journal, Jazz Research News, JazzTimes, and more]. View title list

** OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
This multidisciplinary database offers a great selection of popular music magazines along with a some scholarly music journals, such as: American Music, American Music Teacher, Billboard, Ethnomusicology, Journal of Music Teacher Education, Journal of Musicological Research, Journal of Musicology, Music & the Moving Image, Music Education Technology, Music Educators Journal, Music in Art: International Journal for Music Iconography, Music Review; Music, Sound & the Moving Image; Musical America, Musical Quarterly, Musical Times, Popular Music, Popular Music & Society, and Rolling Stone. View title list.

Fine Arts and Music Collection
With hundreds of full-text magazines and journals, this collection provides resources to support research in areas such as drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. It offers a few titles not indexed elsewhere, like Down Beat and Radio & Music. Also includes The Black Music Research Journal.

*Oxford Music Online 
Oxford Music Online is the gateway through which users can access an expanding range of Oxford's premier music References resources, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Encyclopedia of Popular Music. For more Reference titles in Music, see Credo Reference (box to the right)

Naxos Music Library 
Music database containing over 140,000 tracks of music, including the entire Naxos label. Most of the collection is classical, but the database also includes jazz, world, new age, and some pop and rock. Labels included in addition to Naxos are Chandos, Caprice, Wergo, CPO, Hungaraton, and more.

 

eBooks of Interest to Music Majors

Holoman, D. Kern. Writing About Music : A Style Sheet (2nd Edition).

Berkeley, CA, USA: University of California Press, 2008.

Copyright © 2008. University of California Press. All rights reserved.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Emily Nedell Tuck
Contact Info
Reference Librarian
Robert J. Terry Library
713-313-7402
Send Email
 

Reference Sources Online

Literati Logo


Search these Music Reference titles:

The Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World: Media, Industry & Society
The Faber Companion to 20th Century Popular Music
The Harvard Dictionary of Music
Metropolitan Opera Encyclopedia
The New Penguin Dictionary of Music
Opera: The Great Composers and their Masterworks

 

More Music Reference Online

Search Oxford Music Online

Search Oxford Music reference titles:
The New Grove Dictionary of Music
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz
The Oxford Companion to Music
The Oxford Dictionary of Music
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip