This is the "Home" page of the "Google Scholar: Searching and Linking to Resources at TSU" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Google Scholar: Searching and Linking to Resources at TSU  

This guide explains to TSU students and faculty what Google Scholar is and how to set linking preferences in Google Scholar to allow direct links to TSU library resources from citations found on Google Scholar.
Last Updated: Mar 31, 2016 URL: http://tsu.libguides.com/content.php?pid=695879 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool for locating scholarly information, including journal articles, books and abstracts, by searching universities, publishers, societies and online repositories.  It includes information from a variety of disciplines, but is strongest in the sciences and technical fields.

Google Scholar returns citations with links to the full text if it is available from the publisher or source.

However, because much of the content on Google Scholar comes directly from publishers, users frequently hit "pay walls" to access the full text of the article. Don't pay to view an article! You can use the Robert J. Terry Library to link to or find full text articles on Google Scholar. Before you can link to the full text through TSU, you must set your Google Scholar Library Links Settings (instructions below).

Not everything indexed in Google Scholar is peer-reviewed, so be sure to evaluate the information you find, as you would with other sources. 

You get to Google Scholar by going to scholar.Google.com.

 

Google Scholar & Find It @ TSU

The Robert J. Terry Library uses a service called Find It @ TSU to check for full-text access to materials.  Google Scholar can be configured to display the Find It @ TSU link. This link is a great way to tell if TSU has access to a specific article and also provides you with ordering options (through Interlibrary Loan) if full-text is not available. 

To configure Google Scholar:

  1. Go to Google Scholar and click on Scholar Settings.
  2. Look for the "Library Links" section on the Preferences page.
  3. Search for "Robert J. Terry Library" or Texas Southern University (either way).
  4. Click on the checkbox next to "Robert J. Terry Library - Find It at TSU".  Your preferences will look similar to this:

Google Scholar Search Box

 

Now, Find It @ TSU Libraries links will show up in search results.  For example:

Search Results

Note: if you are off campus, you will be asked to authenticate to access full-text materials.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Emily Nedell Tuck
Contact Info
Reference Librarian
Robert J. Terry Library
713-313-7402
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip