This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Communications and Mass Media" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Communications and Mass Media  

Last Updated: Aug 10, 2015 URL: http://tsu.libguides.com/communications Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library of Congress Classification

Communications / Broadcasting/ Media Studies

HE 7601-9737

Communication. Commerce

HM 263

Propaganda; public relations & the Media.

JF 2112.C3

Mass Media /Political Marketing & Campaigns; Electioneering.

F 2112.D43

Mass Media (Televised Debates) & politics.

JF2112.P8

Mass Media & Politics. Public Opinion

JF 1525.P8

Mass Media & International Relations

JK849

Political Communication of the US Government

KF2750

Mass Media & the Law--Press

KF 2761-1765 

Mass Media & the Law--Telecommunications

NX 180.M3

Mass Media & the Arts

P87-96

Communication.  Mass Media.

P 94.7

Interpersonal communication.

P 99.5-99.6

Nonverbal communication.

P 301-301.5

Style. Composition. Rhetoric.

PN 1990-1992.92

Broadcasting (Radio, TV).

PN 1993-1999

Motion pictures.

PN 4001-4355

Oratory. Elocution, etc.

PN 4699-5656

Journalism. The Periodical Press. Copy editing.

PN 6700-6790

Comic books, strips, etc.

TR 845-899

Cinematography. Motion pictures

Z 551-661

Copyright, Intellectual Property

 

Welcome!

ommunication Arts is the most interdisciplinary degree offered at TSU, embracing speech, journalism, film, radio, TV, entertainment industry, news reporting, video production, social media, advertising, multimedia and law. Because it does embrace so many disciplines, there is no singular spot in the library to find all books on Communications, as you can see from the Library of Congress Classifications on the left. For a list of the most frequently cited journal titles in the field of Communication, click here.

 

Featured Resources for Communications Majors

Communication and Mass Media Collection
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to a comprehensive database encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 420 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 600 titles. Includes full text for 301 journals.

International Index to Performing Arts Full Text
A comprehensive  database providing indexing, abstracts, and full-text covering a broad spectrum to the journal literature of the performing arts--drama, theater, stagecraft, dance, musical theatre, film, television and more-. Radio, television, film and broadcasting journals are well represented here, making this an excellent resource for students of Media. View title list.

Pop Culture Collection
From the Hunger Games to Oprah to the SXSW Festival, this collection provides sources for those researching popular culture and contemporary trends in media and advertizing. Also includes video broadcasts, AP Online, and other news sources. For a list of publications included, click here.

Access World News (NewsBank)
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface. Includes the Houston Chronicle, USA Today and most major metros.

Ethnic NewsWatch 
Ethnic NewsWatch™ (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents an unmatched, comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 2.2 million articles from more than 330 publications offering both national and regional coverage. It includes community publications, as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies. This unique resource covers African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish, and Native People.


      See also NEWS SOURCES, above.

WHEN RESEARCHING THE WORK OF A PARTICULAR JOURNALIST, THE FOLLOWING MULTIDISCIPLINARY AND LITERARY DATABASES ARE BEST BETS:

Academic One File

Academic Search Complete

JSTOR

Twayne Authors Series (can be a good source for Biographical Information on a Journalist)

 

New Titles in Communications (RSS feed coming soon!)

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Emily Nedell Tuck
Contact Info
Reference Librarian
Robert J. Terry Library
713-313-7402
Send Email
 

Search Reference Titles for Communications & Mass Media

Literati Logo


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip