This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Art" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Art  

Last Updated: Feb 21, 2016 URL: http://tsu.libguides.com/art Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library of Congress Classification for Art & Art History (N class)

N  Visual Arts in General
     N  5300-7418  History of Art

NB  Sculpture
NC  Graphic Arts, Drawing, Design.

ND  Painting
NE  Print Media
NK  Decorative arts.
NX  Arts in general. Including works dealing with two or more of the fine arts media.
BH  Aesthetics (under Philosophy)

 

Search for eBooks:

ebrary
Searches the full-text of thousands of eBooks in all disciplines.
 

What's on the Shelves at the Robert J. Terry Library

 

Art Magazines & Journals in the Robert J. Terry Library

Art in America

ARTnews

Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism

Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin

Art Education
School Arts – The Art Education Magazine for K-12 School Arts

Studies in Art Education
African Art

 

Featured Resources for Art Majors

OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
This multidisciplinary database will be of particular interest for artists and art students as it offers coverage of art magazines AND provides PDFs of the pages. (Other databases say they are "full-text", but they don't give you the article images.) Here you will find popular titles such as: American Art, ARTnews, Art in America, ArtForum, Southwest Art, Ceramics Review, Ceramics Monthly, and Print, along with journal titles of interest to those teaching art at the college level.

Black Studies Center
This database supports research in Black Studies but covers journals related to Black aesthetics and African American influence in the visual arts, including the full-text of The International Review of African American Art.

COMING SOON! MORE BOOKS ON MAKING ART! USING ACRYLICS, PRINTMAKING , CERAMICS . . . .STUDIO ARTS. STAY TUNED!

Books You Might Like (A Few Reasons to Come to the Library):

Keith Morrison / Ater, ReneĢe. San Francisco : Pomegranate, 2005. If you have never heard of this contemporary Jamaican-American painter, he’s definitely worth a look. He currently teaches art at Temple University, where he was former Dean of the Art Department, and has a thick bio of musuem exhibtions and publications. Other titles in the "Driskell series of African American Art" are wonderful resources for discovering contemporary African American artists.

 

Henry Ossawa Tanner : Modern Spirit / edited by Anna O. Marley. Philadelphia [Pa.] : Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts ; Berkeley, Calif. : University of California Press, c2012.Tanner (1859 –1937) is the first African-American artist to receive international acclaim. A recent traveling exhibition (came to the MFAH last year) has sparked renewed interest in Tanner.

African American Art: Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights Era, and Beyond. Richard J. Powell and Virginia M. Mecklenburg ; with contributions by Marcia Battle, 2012.  Review: "A beautifully illustrated survey of African American art of the twentieth century, including many never-before-seen works by the most important artists of the period. African American Art presents a powerful selection of paintings, sculpture, prints, and photographs by forty-three black artists who explored the African American experience of the twentieth century. Embracing many universal themes and also evoking specific aspects of the African American experience such as the African diaspora, jazz, and the power of religion, the artists worked in styles as varied as documentary realism, abstraction, and postmodern assemblage of found objects. Drawn entirely from the Smithsonian American Art Museum’s rich collection of African American art, the works include paintings by Benny Andrews, Jacob Lawrence, Thornton Dial Sr., Romare Bearden, Alma Thomas, and Lois Mailou Jones, and photographs by Roy DeCarava, Gordon Parks, Roland Freeman, Marilyn Nance, and James Van Der Zee. More than half of the artworks in the exhibition are being shown for the first time. In Richard Powell’s text, his usual keen insights into meaning and metaphor enrich the reader’s understanding of the artworks in their historical setting and contemporary culture."

      

    Suggest a New (or Old) Title for Acquisition

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Emily Nedell Tuck
    Contact Info
    Reference Librarian
    Robert J. Terry Library
    713-313-7402
    Send Email
     

    Art eReference Sources

    Search Art

    Search these titles for reference articles in art:
    Aesthetics A-Z (Eran Guter)
    A Biographical Dictionary of Artists 
    Bloomsbury Guide to Art
    Bridgeman Art Library Archive
    Critical Terms for Art History
    Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
    Thames & Hudson guides:
    --Dictionary of Art and Artists
    --Dictionary of Art Terms
    --Dictionary of British Art
    Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers 
    --Fashion and Fashion Designers 
    --Encyclopaedia of Impressionism

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip