This is the "Home" page of the "TSU History and Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

TSU History and Archives  

This guide is intended to direct students to library resources for researching TSU history.
Last Updated: Jan 26, 2017 URL: http://tsu.libguides.com/TSUHistory Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Texas Southern University History

This LibGuide is meant to help people locate information on TSU history, alumni and faculty.

Incoming Freshmen are sometimes assigned to research some aspect of TSU History as part of their orientation to TSU. The first place some choose to begin their research--not a bad way to begin--is through TSU's Wikipedia entry. (Just don't cite Wikipedia as a source, because some professors don't view it as credible or authoritative.) Please see a librarian if you need assistance finding materials.

Here are some other online resources which may be helpful to you. 

Online Resources:

Brief overview of TSU's history on the university's website: http://www.tsu.edu/about/history.php

Texas State Historical Association's Handbook of Texas entry for Texas Southern University. https://tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/kct27

Rice University's Museum of Houston has digitized 98 historical documents and images relating to TSU History. The collection may be found here: https://scholarship.rice.edu/handle/1911/36277 but the originals reside in the Heartman Collection at the Robert J. Terry Library.

HBCU Digital History Archive. A digital collection celebrating the founding of the historically Black colleges and universities.  http://hbcudigitallibrary.auctr.edu/cdm/landingpage/collection/TXDC  

"Historical overview of Texas Southern University and its impact" by Ozzell Taylor Johnson. http://www.uh.edu/honors/Programs-Minors/honors-and-the-schools/houston-teachers-institute/curriculum-units/pdfs/1999/the-history-economic-base-and-politics-of-houston/taylor-johnson-99-houston.pdf

The history of higher education for Negroes in Texas, 1930-1955: with particular reference to Texas Southern University / by Raphael O'Hara Lanier.  LC2802.T4 L3 1957a. (Heartman) Download ProQuest Full text PDF. Off-campus access available only to authorized users.

Origin and development of Texas Southern University by William E. Terry. LC2851.T4532 T4 1978 (Heartman, 4th Floor). Also later edition  LC2851.T4532 T4 1968a. (Heartman and ProQuest link)  Download ProQuest Full text PDF. Off-campus access available only to authorized users.

Houston History magazine (online) has a few good articles on TSU history: https://houstonhistorymagazine.org/?s=texas+southern+University


Print Resources:

         As I see Texas Southern University and the University of Houston by Bridges Alfred Turner. LC2851.T4532 T87 1986 (Heartman)Texas Southern        University, from Separation to Special Designation, by John H. Lash, Thomas Freeman, and Hortense Dixon. LC2851.T4532 L3 (Heartman)

Texas Southern University: Its Antecedents, Political Origin, and Future by Ira B. Bryant. LC2851.T4532 B7 1975 (Heartman and 4th Floor)

TSU Meets the Press:  White newspaper coverage of a Black University in Houston, Texas, 1947-2006, written and compiled by E. Bun Lee.  LC2851.T4532 L44 2007 (Heartman, Reference and 4th Floor)

TSU Archives, located in Heartman Special Collections, houses the official records of Texas Southern University. The records include board meeting minutes, presidential papers, yearbooks, dissertations, photographs and other documents related to the history and development of the institution. These documents are not available online but are available for the public to view. TSU archives contains papers of Barbara Jordan, Mickey Leeland, TSU presidents, various documents associated with the devopment of Houston's Third Ward, and items related to the slave trade in Texas. 

TSU Buildings are names after the following notable individuals:

Robert J. Terry [Library] -- TSU Administrator, President, 1986-7

Mack H. Hannah [Hannah Hall]

Granville M. Sawyer
 [Sawyer Auditorium] -- TSU President, 1967-1979.

Jesse H. Jones [School of Business]

Barbara JordanMickey Leland [School of Public Affairs]

Spurgeon N. Gray [Gray Hall -- Pharmacy Building]

Leonard H. O. Spearman Technology building

Thurgood Marshall School of Law

Thomas Freeman Honors College

NEW! TSU Digital Scholarship (Publications of current TSU Faculty) Repository: http://digitalscholarship.tsu.edu/sw_gallery.html Note that many TSU faculty have not yet contributed publications to this repository--this is a new venture.

 

 
 

TSU Archives

TSU Archives houses the official records of Texas Southern University. The records include board meeting minutes, presidential papers, yearbooks, dissertations, photographs and other documents related to the history and development of the institution. These documents are not available online but are available for the public to view. To make an appointment to view documents in the archives, please contact Joyce Thomas at 713-313-4422.

 

Famous Alumni of TSU

Famous TSU Alumni

Barbara Jordan politician, lawyer

Yolanda Adams, record producer, singer-songwriter, radio personality

Craig Washington, politician, lawyer

Michael Strahan, media personality, football player

Al Green, politician, lawyer

Senfronia Thompson, politician, lawyer, teacher

Larry Leon Palmer, US Diplomat

Hank Johnson, politician

Oliver Celestin, football player

Rodney Ellis, Senator, lawyer

Harry E. Johnson, lawyer former president of Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity

Mickey Leland, Congressman and activist;
also: http://www.blackpast.org/aaw/leland-mickey-1944-1989

Bobby Reid, football player

Kirk Whalum, songwriter, musician

Kermit Oliver renown artist, Hermes scarf designer

Bert Samples, Houston artist, muralist

Brett Maxie, coach, football player

Bobbi Humphrey, flutist, singer

Alonzo Bradley, basketball player

Byron E. Price, professor, activist, author

Musiliu Obanikoro, Nigerian politician

Bert Askson, football player

Ted Dunbar, jazz musician

Charles Philyaw, football player

Conrad O. Johnson, musician

Mary Onyali-Omagbemi, Nigerian sprinter, Olympic Gold Medalist

Clarence Bradford, politician and Houston Police Chief

Rocky Williform, publisher, entrepreneur

Jim Hines, sprinter, athlete

Kenneth M. Hoyt, US District Judge

Lloyd C. A. Wells, civil rights activist, sports photographer

Jarvis Johnson, Texas representative

Alvin Fielder, jazz drummer

Ronald C. Green, former city controller, lawyer, activist

Barrie Lee Hall, Jr., musician (played with Duke Ellington)

Kase Lukman Lawal, Businessman, CEO

James Young, football player

Belvin Perry, famous judge

Warren Bone, football player

 

More:

TSU Legends in their own Time Alumni Honorees Gala

 

Notable People Affiliated with TSU

Dr. John Biggers

Toni Morrison

 

TSU Dissertations

TSU Dissertations can be found by going to ProQuest Dissertations (login required). Under Advanced Search, search by institution "Texas Southern University" and you will find over 700 TSU dissertations.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip